Thirty Sundays

On the 13th of May 2012, I started this little project, Thirty Sundays, that had been bouncing in my head for quite a while…

Last Christmas, my boyfriend Mikko gave me this cute little camera, Fujifilm instax mini 7S, with three packs of film, which each contain 10 frames. The instax mini is a Polaroid type camera that gives the print instantly only this being credit card size and rectangular.

At first I wasn’t really sure what I wanted to photograph, and as I looked at my fairly long ‘ideas’ list in my diary nothing really seemed to click. It was at The Business of Photography Seminar, organized by the World Photography Organization in London when the idea popped into my head!

I’ve always had an interest in documenting spaces and people, so I thought it would be a good way to start by photographing one day every week. Monday to Friday is my full time job, so those days got rapidly ignored… But soon I realized that Saturdays are not the same as Sundays… I’ve heard so many people saying “I hate Sundays” or “When I was young I hated Sundays” But when I think about my Sundays, a lot of different things come to mind. Obviously, the way I spend my Sundays has kept changing throughout my life. As a child living back home in Caracas, it meant going to the park early in the morning  and staying for longer since nobody had to do anything else afterwards, countless brunches, visits to grandma, short family trips etc. But as time moved on, and I moved out of home,  and started working on Sundays throughout college and university, in pubs, restaurants and cafes, Sundays became days of work. And now, they are once again days of leisure.

With this project I intend to take at least one photograph a week with my instax camera . I guess these photos will describe my Thirty Sundays in different locations, moods and company. Let’s see what I get!

